Compromise

The government shutdown is over, and the debt ceiling has been raised… at least for now. The government is now funded through January 15, and the debt ceiling will not be hit again until February 7. Without any large agreement, this debate will begin anew in about three months. Thus far, the Democrats and Republicans in D.C. have been unable to reach a true compromise.

There is an important difference between compromise and capitulation. When one party is forced to completely yield in a negotiation, it ruins the relationship. Compromise and negotiation depends a lot about the context and history of the disagreement. Compromise requires both parties to operate in good faith. When one party has a history of not living up to their end of the bargain, finding compromise is difficult. When long term issues are not addressed, as in the latest debt deal, any compromise will be ineffectual and short lived.

It is also important to pick deal breakers carefully. If any capitulation is a deal breaker, then the deal will always be broken. On the other hand, if everything is negotiable then that party will completely capitulate. It is a delicate balance of neither being too flexible, nor too rigid.

 

Podcast – Compromise – The Adam Goldfein Show – Hour 1

Podcast – Compromise – The Adam Goldfein Show – Hour 2

 

 

Additional Resources

The Wall Street Journal, Congress Passes Debt, Budget Deal: http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424052702303680404579139212598765046?mod=WSJ_Home_largeHeadline

The Wall Street Journal, Dollar Hit by Aftermath of Government Shutdown: http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424052702303680404579140260286631546?mod=WSJ_hps_LEFTTopStories

WFPL News, McConnell-Reid Deal Includes $3 Billion Earmark for Kentucky Project: http://wfpl.org/post/mcconnell-reid-deal-includes-3-billion-earmark-kentucky-project

WSB Radio, Gov’t Open Again, Obama Bemoans Senseless Damage: http://www.wsbradio.com/ap/ap/top-news/govt-reopens-after-congress-ends-16-day-shutdown/nbQSx/

The Wall Street Journal, Quick Guide: What’s in the Debt Deal? http://blogs.wsj.com/washwire/2013/10/16/quick-guide-whats-in-the-debt-deal/

The Wall Street Journal, The Budget Battle’s Winners and Losers: http://blogs.wsj.com/washwire/2013/10/16/the-budget-battles-winners-and-losers/

Live Science, Psychology of Compromise: Why Congress Fails: http://www.livescience.com/25962-psychology-compromise-congress-fiscal-cliff.html

Psychology Today, To Compromise or Not to Compromise: http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/is-psychology-making-us-sick/201304/compromise-or-not-compromise

Psychology Today, Stick to Your Guns—or Compromise? http://www.psychologytoday.com/collections/201107/stick-your-guns-or-compromise

Beyond Intractability, Game Theory: http://www.beyondintractability.org/essay/prisoners-dilemma

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s