Sex

Though often spoken of in hushed voices, sex is one of the most fundamental aspects of the human experience. We’re evolutionary hardwired to seek it, just like air, water, and food. Like the preparation of food, sex has been elevated to both a science and an art form. Even after thousands of years of practice and study, however, humans are still having problems in the bedroom.

Actually, they are quite common.  Only 48% of Americans report being satisfied with their sex life and the same percentage of women say they have faked an orgasm at least once. Some degree of sexual dysfunction occurs in 43% of women and 31% of men. Approximately 5% of 40-year-old men and between 15% and 25%of 65-year-old men experience erectile dysfunction. Only 29% of women report always having an orgasm during sex, compared to 75% of men. One third of men experience premature ejaculation, qualifying as 2 minutes or less. Even 3% of women have chronic early climax issues, and 40% have had this issue at least once.

These problems are not from lack of practice. The average American has sex 103 times per year. Excepting men over age 71, 60% of men have masturbated within the past year. Those ages 25-29 topped the chart at 84%. Women masturbate between 10% and 30% less than men in their same age group.

Pornography is also quite common, with 2.5 billion pornographic emails being pornographic. About 25% of all search engine requests are pornography related, totaling 68 million per day. Yet only 23% of American adults believe “whether one likes it or not people should have full access to pornography under the Constitution’s First Amendment.” This seeming hypocrisy might be a result of 42% of surveyed adults indicated that their partner’s use of pornography made them feel insecure. Yet, “sex” is the number one searched term on the internet.

The larger point to this is that sex, sexual problems, pornography, and the rest are actually very normal. If you are having a problem with something, someone else has already had that very problem. Almost all of them have a solution. You only have to ask what it is.

Additional Resources

Live Science, The 10 Most Surprising Sex Statistics: http://www.livescience.com/11387-10-surprising-sex-statistics.html

Woman’s Day, Sex by the Numbers: http://www.womansday.com/sex-relationships/sex-tips/sex-by-the-numbers-103274

Web MD, Erectile Dysfunction Health Center: http://www.webmd.com/erectile-dysfunction/default.htm

Forbes, Does the World Want, Much Less Need, A New Erectile Dysfunction Drug? http://www.forbes.com/sites/johnlamattina/2013/04/03/does-the-world-want-much-less-need-a-new-erectile-dysfunction-drug/

WebMD, Is Pornography Addictive? http://men.webmd.com/features/is-pornography-addictive

Psychology Today, Porn Addict or Selfish Bastard? http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/sexual-intelligence/201105/porn-addict-or-selfish-bastard-life-is-more-complicated

Psychology Today, A Possible Cure For Pornography Addiction: http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-pacific-heart/201201/possible-cure-pornography-addiction-in-essay

Psychology Today, Porn Addiction is Not Sex Addiction: http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/cupids-poisoned-arrow/201111/porn-addiction-is-not-sex-addiction-and-why-it-matters

Statistics for Sex and Porn Addiction: http://www.operationintegrity.org/pdf/Porn%20&%20Sex%20Statistics.pdf

Family Safe Media, Pornography Statistics: http://www.familysafemedia.com/pornography_statistics.html

Psych Central, 7 Warning Signs You Might Have a Porn Problem: http://psychcentral.com/blog/archives/2012/06/07/7-warning-signs-you-might-have-a-porn-problem/

Ask Men, Dealing With Porn Addiction: http://www.askmen.com/dating/love_tip_400/404_love_tip.html

Gizmodo, How Pornography Addiction Works and Affects Your Life: http://gizmodo.com/5985652/how-pornography-addiction-works-and-affects-your-life

Ask Men, Sex Stats You Can Use: http://www.askmen.com/daily/sex_tips_400/418_sex-stats-you-can-use.html

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s